Exciting Changes Announced For This Year's Honda-Broderick Cup Presentation Ceremony
2010 Awards Ceremony in Los Angeles Will Feature On- the-Spot Announcement of Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year from "Top Three" Finalists in Attendance

April 28, 2010

The Collegiate Women Sports Awards program today announced several key changes to the 2010 Honda-Broderick Cup presentation ceremony. Notably, in a move that is sure to heighten the excitement, the program will designate its "Top Three" finalists for Collegiate Female Athlete of the Year. All three will be scheduled to attend the Los Angeles ceremony on June 21, at which the Honda-Broderick Cup winner will be revealed to everyone in attendance - including the finalists themselves.

The Honda-Broderick Cup is given annually to a female athlete selected from a group of 12 individual Honda Sports Award winners chosen from separate NCAA-sanctioned sports throughout the year. Last year's winner was gymnastics star Courtney Kupets of the University of Georgia.

New Alternating Schedule Between Los Angeles and New York
After being held in New York City since 2003, this year marks the beginning of an alternating annual schedule for the awards ceremony between Los Angeles and New York. Following the 2010 event at the University of California, Los Angeles, it will return to New York for 2011, then back to Los Angeles for a ceremony at the University of Southern California in 2012.

CWSA board member Tora Grossman noted: "We're thrilled to be having our year-end awards event in Los Angeles. It will be a terrific opportunity for us to publicly recognize our Top Three athletes, and we're especially looking forward to the excitement and anticipation as the winner of the Honda-Broderick Cup will be revealed."

In addition to the Honda-Broderick Cup, the Collegiate Women's Sports Awards Program will also present its annual Honda Inspiration Award to a deserving collegiate female athlete at the June 21 awards ceremony, as well as Honda's Division II and III Athlete of the Year honors.

The Collegiate Women's Sports Awards, now in its 34th year, annually honors the accomplishments of female athletes in NCAA-member colleges around the country, acknowledging athletic excellence as well as team contributions, academic achievement and social involvement. Past winners of the Honda-Broderick Cup include Candace Parker, Mia Hamm, Jackie Joyner-Kersee and Misty May.

All 12 individual Honda Sports Award winners are automatically nominated for the Honda- Broderick Cup, presented to the Collegiate Female Athlete of the Year. The first six winners for this year have already been announced. They are: Angela Bizzarri from the University of Illinois for cross country, Katie O'Donnell from the University of Maryland for field hockey, Whitney Engen from the University of North Carolina for soccer, Megan Hodge from Penn State University for volleyball, Julia Smit from Stanford University for swimming & diving and Maya Moore from the University of Connecticut for basketball. Honda Sports Award winners in golf, gymnastics, lacrosse, softball, tennis and track & field will be announced in the coming months.

American Honda Motor Co., Inc. has sponsored the Collegiate Women Sports Awards Program for 25 consecutive years. Honda has donated over $2 million in grants and scholarships to universities over the course of the program. See www.hondaawards.com for more information.

Awards Contact:
Christina Colon or Harvey Bolgla
Dobbin/Bolgla Associates
156 Fifth Avenue, Ste 523
New York, NY 10010
Phone: (212) 388-1400/ Fax: (212) 388-1490